The Sacred Heart of Jesus Church opened in 1916. Fr Williamson––prolific architect, priest, and writer––designed the late Gothic style Church in 1912, and building commenced in 1916. Located on Wymering Road it is on the edge of Southwold Common on prominent rising ground. The Church’s tower is over 100 feet and is visible from miles around, offering a unique and beautiful panorama of the town, Sole Bay, and the estuary of the River Blythe. Alongside the church is the Cardinal Newman Hall which has limited parking at the rear. However, the Church is 5 minutes’ walk from car parks at the East End of the Common close to the High Street and near the Water Tower on the Common.
St Edmund’s Church is located on Church Lane not far from the Anglican Parish Church of St Mary. The Church is relatively modern and was built in 1957. It has a good-sized car park and is also about 10 minutes’ walk from public car parks off the Thoroughfare and in Angel Lane.